«New sports concussion web site | Home | The Crisis in Football»

Important Action Alert: House of Representatives Threatens Important Brain Injury Research

The Brain Injury Association of America has issued an important alert today concerning potential legislative action on the U.S. House of Representatives that would eliminate   The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality which has produced important research on Traumatic Brain Injury.

The House Bill Would Eliminate The Health Research Agency - Act Today!

The House Labor-HHS appropriations bill would eliminate the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality produced important research on Traumatic Brain Injury.

The bill, which will be marked up by the House Appropriations Labor-HHS subcommittee today, states that the agency would be "terminated" effective Oct. 1, 2012. It would rescind all funds that haven't been spent yet, and would "transfer" activities that fall under the agency. That includes the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, which has been at the center of controversies over prostate cancer screening and mammograms.

We urge you to act locally to defend research funding. Now is the time to reach out to your Representatives and tell them that health services research, and the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality, must be protected.

Please review the list below; if your elected official serves on the appropriations committee (those in Bold below are Subcommittee members), please urge them to vote "no" on this bill by calling the Capitol Hill operator at 202-225-3121 and asking for your representative's office. Ask to speak to speak to the health legislative or appropriations assistant. Thank you!

Republican Members

Harold Rogers, Kentucky, Chairman

C.W. Bill Young, Florida

 Jerry Lewis, California

Frank R. Wolf, Virginia

 Jack Kingston, Georgia

Rodney P. Frelinghuysen, New Jersey

Tom Latham, Iowa

Robert B. Aderholt, Alabama

Jo Ann Emerson, Missouri

 Kay Granger, Texas

 Michael K. Simpson, Idaho

John Abney Culberson, Texas

Ander Crenshaw, Florida

 Denny Rehberg, Montana (Subcommittee Chair)

John R. Carter, Texas

 Rodney Alexander, Louisiana

Ken Calvert, California

Jo Bonner, Alabama

Steven C. LaTourette, Ohio

Tom Cole, Oklahoma

 Jeff Flake, Arizona

Mario Diaz-Balart, Florida

Charles W. Dent, Pennsylvania

Steve Austria, Ohio

 Cynthia M. Lummis, Wyoming

Tom Graves, Georgia

Kevin Yoder, Kansas

Steve Womack, Arkansas

Alan Nunnelee, Mississippi

Democratic Members

Norman D. Dicks, Washington

Marcy Kaptur, Ohio

Peter J. Visclosky, Indiana

 Nita M. Lowey, New York

José E. Serrano, New York

 Rosa L. DeLauro, Connecticut (Subcommittee Ranking Member)

James P. Moran, Virginia

John W. Olver, Massachusetts

Ed Pastor, Arizona

David E. Price, North Carolina

Maurice D. Hinchey, New York

 Lucille Roybal-Allard, California

Sam Farr, California

 Jesse L. Jackson, Jr., Illinois

Chaka Fattah, Pennsylvania

Steven R. Rothman, New Jersey

Sanford D. Bishop, Jr., Georgia

 Barbara Lee, California

Adam B. Schiff, California

Michael M. Honda, California

Betty McCollum, Minnesota



TrackBack URL for this entry:
Trackback link

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Important Action Alert: House of Representatives Threatens Important Brain Injury Research:


The comments to this entry are closed.